Local Economic Development Organization Announces New Name and New Location

You are currently viewing Local Economic Development Organization Announces New Name and New Location

During the March 2018 meeting of the Ellis County Coalition for Economic Development’s Board of Directors, the group unanimously voted to change its name to Grow Hays. The change in name to Grow Hays is but one of many outcomes associated with the organization’s ongoing evolution and rebranding effort. 

Long known for its efforts to promote a robust local economy through business creation, retention/expansion and recruitment, Grow Hays has offered instrumental support toward numerous community successes. A few of those many successes include the arrival of Hobby Lobby, a soon to be constructed convention center, development of innovative job training initiatives, and BriefSpace, a co-working space.

Grow Hays manages and will relocate to BriefSpace in early July. BriefSpace, located at 219 West 10th Street in Downtown Hays, is a shared working environment for work at home professionals, start-up entrepreneurs and traveling business owners/employees and consultants.

As another part of its evolution, Grow Hays reduced the size of its governing board from 23 to 13 members, with the stipulation that the communities of Ellis, Hays and Victoria shall each be represented by having at least one of its residents included on the board. 2018 board members include Ron Fields, Joannah Applequist, Lance Bickle, Joseph Boeckner, Les Brown, Karen Dreiling, Eddie Herrman, Mary Martin, Bob Muirhead, Deron O’Connor, Doug Williams and Mike Downing (Ellis representative). The Victoria representative seat is currently vacant and the group continues to seek applications for the remaining position.

“Grow Hays is dedicated to promoting economic growth in Ellis County. The re-branding, new board of directors and BriefSpace co-working project are examples of how we are working towards our mission of business creation, retention/expansion and recruitment,” said Doug Williams, Interim Director.